NCMAR Scholarships

NCMAR Community Scholarship

Every year the North Central Massachusetts Association of REALTORS awards scholarships to deserving high school students in the North Central Massachusetts area including the cities and towns of Ashburnham, Ashby, Athol, Ayer, Bolton, Fitchburg, Gardner, Groton, Harvard, Hubbardston, Lancaster, Leominster, Lunenburg, Orange, Pepperell, Petersham, Phillipston, Royalston, Shirley, Templeton, Townsend, Westminster, and Winchendon.

Since 1981, NCMAR has awarded over $76,000 in community scholarships to 80 high school seniors.  

The Scholarship Committee was faced with the difficult task of choosing the winners from the many applications received this year. The Committee awards two Community scholarships to high school students who live in one of the 23 communities that NCMAR serves.

Our applications are made available in February of each year with awards being presented at our Awards Banquet in June.  This year we awarded two scholarship to two very deserving students.

We wish both of our applicants the best of luck in their college education and future careers.


The first recipient of the Community Scholarship is Meggan Law.

Meggan is a 2020 graduate of Montachusett Vocational Technical High School, and she plans to attend Framingham State University to study tourism and hotel management.

Meggan is a National Honor Society member and basketball and softball team member. She works at the Monty Tech Greenhouse and in the Student Support Office. She has volunteered for Meals for Shields and the Westminster Cracker Festival.    

The second recipient of the Community Scholarship is Kylee McCumber.

Kylee is a 2020 graduate of The Winchendon School.  Kylee plans on attending college at Bentley University to study Marketing.

Kylee is the founder of Kylee’s Kare Kits for Kids, a non profit that provides food for more than 550 food insecure children every week. She also participated in the United Way Youth Venture, Project 351 ambassador, Mission to the Phillippines and Dominican Republic. She is also a member of the National Honor Society and the Student Council

Willard Ide Shattuck Memorial Scholarship

The Willard Ide Shattuck Memorial Scholarship was established in 1985 by Willard Shattuck to provide a way to give back to our members by assisting their families with the cost of higher education.  Each year the North Central Massachusetts Association of REALTORS gives out one scholarship to one relative of a current NCMAR member determined by scholastic achievement and their character.

This year’s Memorial Scholarship is awarded to Maureen D’Agostino.

Maureen is the niece of REALTOR Bev D’Agostino. Maureen will be attending Keene State College to study art and education.    

In High School, Maureen was a member of the Student Advisory Council, several school committees, soccer and track and field teams. Maureen works at Davis Farmland, Stuart and John’s Sugar House and volunteers at several local charities.

Rocheford Law Office 2020 Supplemental Scholarship Fund

David Rocheford has offered to fund a second scholarship for 2020 using the same criteria as the Willard Ide Shattuck Memorial Scholarship.

The Rocheford Law Office 2020 Supplemental Scholarship Fund recipient is awarded to Emma Hughes.

Emma is the daughter of REALTOR Margaret Hughes and granddaughter of REALTOR Janis Montalbano. Emma is a 2020 graduate of Narragansett High School and plans to attend Harvard to study government.

 Emma served as President of the National Honor Society, co chair of the Student Advisory Council, 2019 Student of the Year, National AP scholar and many more awards. She coordinated and planned a service trip to the Dominican Republic to build a home, volunteered at the Give Kids the World Village event, and planned the Freshman Academy for incoming students.

 Emma also served as a district intern to Senator Anne Gobi, tutors and babysits.